Meh…

Three Songs

The recommendations for todays post were the following:

  • Keep your hand moving. (Don’t pause to reread the line you’ve just written. That’s stalling and trying to get control of what you’re saying.)
  • Don’t cross out. (That is editing as you write. Even if you write something you didn’t mean to write, leave it.)
  • Don’t worry about spelling, punctuation, grammar. (Don’t even care about staying within the margins and lines on the page.)
  • Lose control.
  • Don’t think. Don’t get logical.
  • Go for the jugular. (If something comes up in your writing that is scary or naked, dive right into it. It probably has lots of energy.)

The prompt was to choose three songs significant to you and use them for inspiration. Those songs, if not the performances shown, exemplify the writing process. They’re frenetic, weird unfiltered and dark as hell. Perhaps that’s a little more literal than I wanted to get, considering the Stones song and its brutal implications at Altamont, but screw it. They wrote that song, and to their everlasting shame hired the Angels to work security. Great plan.

It’s with a little discomfort, and perhaps irony, that I confess that these songs are comfort food to me. Yeah. Like the pork buns of music. Although, I suppose it’s not a huge surprise. Anyone who’s known be for longer than a few days knows I’m a Devo fan–unrepentant to the last. As for the other songs, they’re kind of the musical representation of where my mind wanders when it’s not focused on a pressing issue.

Actually, this whole exercise reminds me how compartmentalized my mind is. Like a big ship, I wall off bits to avoid sinking if my ego gets punctured. I’ve pumped a lot of sea water out of those compartments, because my hull is paper thin, but haven’t sunk yet. I suppose that lurking in those inner compartments is a whole gaggle of demons, but as long as they don’t bother the paying passengers during dinner hours, it’s probably fine to keep them along for the ride. And it’s sure better than letting them drive.

Meh… I didn’t particularly like this prompt.

2 comments

  1. Sometimes the least interesting exercises produce brilliant work…you did a great job. Your observations and analogies are spot on…the perfect blend of humor, honesty, insight and historical accuracy. I love starting the day with your blog.

Leave a Reply

