Smudge Exercise

In lieu of interesting words today, I am posting another sketch. Basically, I wanted to work with and figure out the basics of the paint and smudge tools, at least as far as getting digital half tones. It’s so much easier to get nice gradients with actual paints, but I’ll get this digital thing down sooner or later. I really am considering getting a tablet for the computer, though–something that’s more accurate and has more options. In general, though, I need to work on anatomical/figure drawing. I want, at some point, to be able to draw a figure that can be recognized as human, even if it is more cartoony than realistic.

Today, I started drawing a clown, but it ended up as weird version of The Joker.

Joker

Leave a Reply

